There are three S3 versioning states that you should be aware of. Once you enable versioning on your bucket, you can’t go back to unversioned, but rather just the suspended state.
- unversioned (the default)
Enabling versioning is relatively easy. Be aware that there is a cost associated with this as additional data is stored.
To view the versioning state of a S3 bucket, you can use any of the following tools.